8 Structures And Scope Of A Constitution

The structures of constitution include:
1. The Preamble: Constitution contains preamble which declares its aspiration (Decree promulgation).
2. The Political Structure: It states the structure of government whether unitary or federal and also defines the division of powers among the component units in the state.
3. The Political Institutions: The constitution also defines the powers and functions of those institution i.e The executive, Legislative and Judicial arms of government. Their relationship are clearly stated as well.
4. Fundamental Human Rights: It defines the rights of citizens, their duties and obligations to the state.
5. Fundamental Objectives Of The State: It also states the fundamental principles and objectives of the state e.g its political ideology.
6. The Process Of Amendment: The method or process of affecting change in any constitution are clearly stated in the constitution.
7. Citizenship: It defines the qualification foe citizenship. It states who the citizens of country are and how citizenship can be acquired.
8. Tenure Of Office Of Government: It states how long a government can stay in office. E.g. The Nigerian constitution of 1979 states that government should stay in office for four years.
Importance/Functions Of The Constitution
1. Constitution checks and sets limits not only to the actions of government but also the actions of ordinary citizens.
2. It established a frame work for maintenance of peace and orderliness in the country.
3. A constitution defines the scope and functions of the three organs making the government to be objective by clarifying the ideological direction.
4. A constitution serves as a system of nationhood and act of sovereignty.
5. It defines the powers exercised by the various levels of government and limits their powers equally.
6. It helps thr nation to make developmental progress hence the system is organised and in order when the contents are followed.